[ REVIEW ] STRANGE THE DREAMER – LAINI TAYLOR

 

strangethedreamer-fb-reveal-uk-us1.jpgTITLE: Strange The Dreamer

AUTHOR: Laini Taylor

RATING: ★★★

TRIGGER WARNING: illusions to rape, children being stolen away.

WHERE DID I RECEIVE THIS?: Hachette NZ sent this to me in exchange for an honest review

The dream chooses the dreamer, not the other way around— and Lazlo Strange, war orphan and junior librarian, has always feared that his dream chose poorly. Since he was five years old he’s been obsessed with the mythic lost city of Weep, but it would take someone bolder than he to cross half the world in search of it. Then a stunning opportunity presents itself, in the person of a hero called the Godslayer and a band of legendary warriors, and he has to seize his chance to lose his dream forever.

What happened in Weep two hundred years ago to cut it off from the rest of the world? What exactly did the Godslayer slay that went by the name of god? And what is the mysterious problem he now seeks help in solving?

Fall into a mythical world of dread and wonder, moths and nightmares, love and carnage.

Welcome to Weep.

download-2.png

Well, the first thing I should say is, never let yourself get too hyped for a new release because it can really let you down. Now that’s not to say I didn’t enjoy Strange The Dreamer, because I did! but it wasn’t quite the book for me.

First of all, I genuinely fell in love with Laini’s writing style, how she so effortlessly weaved the tales of weep and lead me into a world was astounding and for that reason alone, I really preferred the first half of the book for it’s mythical world building. She created a world so shrouded in mystery that I felt compelled to find out what really happened in Weep all of 200 years ago.

Another positive of this book was the characters. I mainly enjoyed the character of Minya, and thought I couldn’t relate to her at all, I felt for her the most. Her experiences and pain as a young child, left me wishing her outcome could’ve been drastically different. I also found myself a fan of Thyon, for some absurd reason. I can’t place my finger on it at all, but he manages to hold a special place with me. Before the romance took over I truly loved Lazlo too.

Speaking of romance, towards the end of the book, I felt like the romance took too much of a main focus, and while I understood why that would happen, to bring about the end ofcourse (and I was obviously still entranced in the story for the fact that I did shed a few tears, I’m an easy crier it’s horrible) I just felt like perhaps the story could’ve still been good without the romance.

My only big reason for rating this so low, was that when I stepped back and thought about it, the story and characters didn’t entrance me as much as they normally would. This can really be seen by the fact it took me 12 days to read 532 pages (hint, I quite often can finish a book this length in two days or so if I enjoy it) The story was very high fantasy and climatic in a sense you were always waiting for the climax to happen, however when it did it was, for me atleast, it was just, shrug worthy.

I never like to drag on about a books bad points because for me atleast, there are always some good points, and you can see that here!

download-1.png

For anyone who is curious, I am indeed a book tabber. Blue is for plot points I found interesting, or want to refer to later. Pink is for quotes I love & orange is also quotes I love? there’s a distinction somewhere in my head for the difference, something to do with ones I would quote and ones I enjoyed.

The tabs show my preference for the first half of the book and I think alot of that comes from the fact that the world was built so beautifully that I couldn’t help myself but tab things that were written so poetically. I would genuinely write down every one of them because of how much I love them but I don’t want to spoil anyone!

Overall, I’m glad I read this book & was introduced to Lainis poetic style of writing, and while I probably wont be picking up the sequel to this, things might change.

I think if you’re a big fan of high fantasy, mysteries, books that are heavy on the romance and the whole, are the evil people really evil trope, then this is definitely the book for you!

 

Until next time,
Sarah.

 

3 thoughts on “[ REVIEW ] STRANGE THE DREAMER – LAINI TAYLOR

Add yours

  1. Pingback: March Wrap Up

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

