April TBR

The times come again to begin preparing a pile of books to read within the next 30 days and boy am I excited.

With starting a new job, and working with my first two publishing companies (honestly how they said yes to a little old kiwi like me, I’ll never know!) , I now have an abundance of books I want to read this month and it’s honestly the best feeling ever.

Since this is my first TBR here I’ll explain my normal plan, every month I aim to read 5 books, sometimes it works, sometimes it doesn’t. But I feel like 5 is a nice number to stick to. I also tend to give myself a TBR of about 7 books, this gives me some variety in choices and occasionally (like I’m hoping for this month) I read more than 5. So enough talking let’s get onto the books

I also have a TBR jar, where the names of books that aren’t on my monthly TBR list ( or next months) get put in, and once a month I read something from there to help keep my TBR list down!

 

img_2142.jpg
1. A monster calls – Patrick Ness.
This is a nice short book coming in at under 300 pages, my aim is to read this in one day of course, but things change.

 

img_2144.jpg
2. Sputnik Sweetheart – Haruki Murakami
Carolinethereader over on YouTube inspired this purchase! She often raves abour Murakami and as I’ve never read any of his books, I want to give his writing a shot and I decided this would be a good book to start with as it’s under 300 pages! Again I’m hoping to finish this in a day! Fingers crossed.

img_2193.jpg
3. We should all be femenists – Chimamanda Ngozi Adiche
I think we all know how huge the feminists movement is right now and how important it is and I’ve heard only amazing things about this and how important it is. I’m really trying to read atleast one diverse book a month, and this is my pick for April.

 

33805263._UY200_
4. But then I came back – Jennifer Niven
I am receiving this book from Hachette NZ and honestly it sounds adorable and sometimes I just need something cute, you know? ( I don’t have this yet, but it should be here soon!)

 

 

 

IMG_2145

5. Siege & Storm – Leigh Bardugo
Guys I started reading this book like, in Feburary and then I put it down when I was halfway through it! I can’t believe myself because it was still really good! I want to finish it this month so I can consider buying SOC & CK

 

IMG_2146

6. Ruin & Rising – Leigh Bardugo – Same story for this, brought it, need to get to it.

 

img_2192.jpg

 

and my TBR Jar book is
7. Red Queen – Victoria Aveyard
this is so funny as I was going to mention this book below as a “if I have time” book, otherwise it was going to be next months book, but it seems that I need to read it this month & I can’t wait!

Here’s some honorable mentions!! AKA, books I WILL be reading ( and probably putting infront of half of this list if they arrive before the 28th of April! )

funnily enough these are both from Harper Collins NZ who have been kind enough to work with me, by offering me books for free in exchange for honest reviews! I’ve selected,

26156203

 

The Crowns Game – Evelyn Skye

Guys I am SO excited for this book!! I’ve been eyeing it up for so long and I just cannot wait to start it, especially with the sequel coming up so soon!

 

 

9780008147471.jpg

A Tragic Kind Of Wonderful – Eric LindStorm

This book sounds like it’s going to be hard hitting but something lovely! it features a character dealing with Bipolar Disorder! However I don’t know if it portrays it properly!

 

 

 

 

Now there’s always a few books I haven’t finished yet for whatever reason, and they’re often non-fiction or classics, and this month I have two.

img_2147.jpg

 

  1. War & Peace – Leo Tolstoy, I’m buddy reading this with Katie from @whatkatiereads over on instagram and we’re both slowly crawling through it!
  2. S.P.Q.R – Mary Beard, I began this earlier in the month but I never actually got further than 50 pages? It’s really interesting though so I need to keep reading it!!

 

This is one of the most ambitious TBR lists, but I’m hoping, since three books are pretty small, that I can actually achieve these 7 books. What’s your April TBR? let me know in the comments below!

 

Until next time,
Sarah.

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

