[ REVIEW ] WE SHOULD ALL BE FEMINISTS – CHIMAMANDA NGOZI ADICHE

TITLE: We Should All Be Femenists

AUTHOR: Chimamanda Ngozi Adiche

RATING: ★★★★★

TRIGGER WARNING: mentions of a death, very minor.

WHERE DID I RECEIVE THIS?: I brought this from BookDepository!

What does “feminism” mean today? That is the question at the heart of We Should All Be Feminists, a personal, eloquently-argued essay – adapted from her much-viewed Tedx talk of the same name – by Chimamanda Ngozi Adichie, the award-winning author of ‘Americanah’ and ‘Half of a Yellow Sun’. With humour and levity, here Adichie offers readers a unique definition of feminism for the twenty-first century – one rooted in inclusion and awareness. She shines a light not only on blatant discrimination, but also the more insidious, institutional behaviours that marginalise women around the world, in order to help readers of all walks of life better understand the often masked realities of sexual politics.

MY REVIEW!!

Read this book at my funeral, bury me with it. Whatever just never let it leave my side. This book is just, SO important and I can’t believe how long it took me to read it.

Okay if that first line isn’t obvious enough, I absolutely adored this book, I tabbed 21 things in 47 pages which is insane for me, that’s nearly tabbing every second page! After reading this, I wanted to reread it again, to shove it in my mothers face, perhaps even my step fathers, just to get the message out there further.

This is a non fiction essay about feminism and eloquently makes it understandable in the modern view. In my opinion this is the kind of book that introduces the subject so eloquently that I feel like you could use it to explain to someone, what feminism really is.

I think the first thing that hit me when reading this, was in the first few pages how she explains how both women and men told her being a feminist was bad that “being a feminist means she was an unhappy woman who couldn’t find a husband” that being a feminist was “un-african” and it reminded me so starkly of the reactions we still see to this day when talking about feminism, its a taboo topic.

 

This book challenged so many topics and made me feel so many things that I genuinely think it should be a required reading, it speaks truths that alot of people don’t want to say. overall my words are a muddled mess as are my thoughts but i cannot express how important and amazing this book is.

My favourite part of this book was how personal it felt, Chimamanda included specific tidbits from her past, things that made her who she is today, a feminist. Those little bits of information made this feel more like I was reading a diary of a close friend than an essay, and I think that made a world of difference.
Overall I really enjoyed this for a non-fiction book, it was short and snappy, never letting you forget the topic of what it’s about. I’ve never really been a non fiction reader, but this book might have just changed that.
This books is impactful and informative, fitting a world of text into only 48 pages. And I have to say, if you’re going to pick up any non fiction book this year, this is the one I recommend.
If you’re curious about feminism, if you are a feminist, read this book, it will change you.
Now a moment of prayer for my edition of We Should All Be Feminists as my cat vomited on it, and it is now cover-less.
until next time,
Sarah
3 thoughts on “[ REVIEW ] WE SHOULD ALL BE FEMINISTS – CHIMAMANDA NGOZI ADICHE

Add yours

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

