{REVIEW} – SHATTER ME

download

Title: Shatter Me
Author: Tahereh Mafi
Genre: Science Fiction, Dystopia, Young Adult
Publisher: Harper Teen
Publication Date: October 15 2011
Rating: ★★★★★
Trigger warnings: unhealthy relationships, abusive parents.
Where did I receive this? I brought it from BookDepository

 

“My world is one interwoven web of words, stringing limb to limb, bone to sinew, thoughts and images all together. I am a being comprised of letters, a character created by sentences, a figment of imagination formed through fiction.”

 

SYNOPSIS

Juliette hasn’t touched anyone in exactly 264 days.

The last time she did, it was an accident, but The Reestablishment locked her up for murder. No one knows why Juliette’s touch is fatal. As long as she doesn’t hurt anyone else, no one really cares. The world is too busy crumbling to pieces to pay attention to a 17-year-old girl. Diseases are destroying the population, food is hard to find, birds don’t fly anymore, and the clouds are the wrong color.

The Reestablishment said their way was the only way to fix things, so they threw Juliette in a cell. Now so many people are dead that the survivors are whispering war – and The Reestablishment has changed its mind. Maybe Juliette is more than a tortured soul stuffed into a poisonous body. Maybe she’s exactly what they need right now.

Juliette has to make a choice: Be a weapon. Or be a warrior.

REVIEW

Let me start off by saying, I didn’t take forever to read this book because I didn’t enjoy it! I took forever because I didn’t want to finish it and have to wait for the sequels ( & novellas ) to arrive in my mail box, but alas! at the time of writing this, I’m still waiting on the arrival of my boxed set and the novella compilation, perhaps post editing sarah will change (Indeed they have arrived! but priorities must be made so I’m not currently reading them) this because there will be joy in the air with their arrivals! who knows! but first, onto the book.

Shatter me was a work of art in the way it was written, beautifully poetic lines intermixed with an almost dystopian world left for something unique and it made me feel like I had read nothing like it before. Now straight off the bat, before reading this I knew Warner was end game and perhaps that changed my mind a lot but I of course can’t change that. I hated Adam alot. like, alot. He fell in love with a girl who was ‘good’? hello! he lived in an abusive house where he had never even had a single good thing, of course hes going to love something that seems so pure. but holding onto the love for that long? it’s a little weird I wont lie. Now in the case of Juliette it’s really similar to Adam’s, no one has loved her before and so when Adam comes along professing his love, of course she’s going to be head over heels, someone cares! who cares who it is! this happens all the time in the real world, and it sucks to see but in this case it was really interesting to see it in YA!

Now of course, I went into this expecting Warnette, and I didn’t get any, however, can we all agree Warner is a little f’ed up? He’s a bit too obsessed and like a puppy in the sense he’s always waiting for approval… but I still really loved him? #sorrynotsorry

Looking at the tabs in my book, a solid 70% are for quotes or scenes I love and honestly there were so many!  from beautifully poetic lines, to things that hit too close to reality ( It’s Kishimoto, not moto. he has a right to be annoyed at that, just like everyone in the world with ‘hard to pronounce names’ deserve to feel unjustified at people not even trying ) This was a whirlwind book and while I have some predictions to what’s going to happen, they’re not solid because so often I found myself anticipating something, and getting something else!

I found myself entranced by both the characters & the plot which was unique and made me love this story all the more for it, Taherehs ability to not only weave a beautiful story, but realistic characters with flaws astounded me. Overall this book is romance heavy with a dystopian background and a lot of morally grey ( and black ) characters, I can’t wait for the sequel to arrive in my mail and continue this series!

until next time,
Sarah

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

