REVIEW – HUNTED

TITLE: Hunted

AUTHOR: Meagan Spooner

RATING: ★★★★.5

TRIGGER WARNING: death, attempted murder, not so nice beginning relationship

WHERE DID I RECEIVE THIS?: I brought it with my own money! yay me

FAVORITE QUOTE:

“She moves like beauty, she whispers to us of wind and forest—and she tells us stories, such stories that we wake in the night, dreaming dreams of a life long past. she reminds us of what we used to be.

She reminds us of what we could be.” 
SYNOPSIS

Beauty knows the Beast’s forest in her bones—and in her blood. Though she grew up with the city’s highest aristocrats, far from her father’s old lodge, she knows that the forest holds secrets and that her father is the only hunter who’s ever come close to discovering them.

So when her father loses his fortune and moves Yeva and her sisters back to the outskirts of town, Yeva is secretly relieved. Out in the wilderness, there’s no pressure to make idle chatter with vapid baronessas…or to submit to marrying a wealthy gentleman. But Yeva’s father’s misfortune may have cost him his mind, and when he goes missing in the woods, Yeva sets her sights on one prey: the creature he’d been obsessively tracking just before his disappearance.

Deaf to her sisters’ protests, Yeva hunts this strange Beast back into his own territory—a cursed valley, a ruined castle, and a world of creatures that Yeva’s only heard about in fairy tales. A world that can bring her ruin or salvation. Who will survive: the Beauty, or the Beast?

REVIEW

I originally had seen this when it first came out, and thought, huh maybe one day I’ll pick that up. Then one of my local book stores were having a buy one, get your second half off deal, and I found hunted sitting there shinning prettily and I couldn’t resist, and let me tell you, I regret nothing. I would buy this again in a heartbeat. If someone asked me what words best described this book? the most immediate answer would be magical and heart warming. Hunted is a standalone story that is a retelling of beauty and the beast, of course with a few twists and turns in there. Since I haven’t seen the disney film myself, I can’t comment on how accurate it is, all I can say is from the minute I started this book, to the minute I finished it, I was entrapped in a beautiful tale that felt like a fairy tale come to life.

The main character Yeva, is nicknamed Beauty. She’s a hunter by nature but forced to be a lady as that is what is expected of her, but when her father goes missing after trying to hunt the elusive ‘beast’ she follows after him and then seeks revenge, only to be caught captive, and find herself making a friend and then learning the truth. This story was beautifully written and in my opinion, the semi mixed media worked phenomenally. We see the normal story, but also interwoven into that, is the beast’s journal which shows his thoughts and insights into the curse that he bound to, and how he devolves back to the beast after Yeva leaves him.

If I had to pick a favourite thing, it would be the writing in this book, the flow and speed of this book were perfect, never too fast but always fast enough that you were kept entertained and intrigued and the writing style was just transported you to another world.

Normally I like to ramble on about books but this is the kind of book you are better off going into knowing absolutely nothing, just know that it is a beautiful stand alone that at the end, left me with a warm fuzzy feeling and the urge to re read it again. I honestly cannot give enough praises to Hunted and I have a feeling it will sit on my favourites shelf for a while.

Now I get it, Sarah you’ve been rating almost every book you read so high? and honestly? I think I’ve just been having the best luck with the books I’ve been reading as of late? This was an instant 4 star from as soon as I started it and worked it’s way to a 4.5 star rating and i regret nothing about rating it so high because it wholly deserved it!

Until next time,
Sarah

One thought on “REVIEW – HUNTED

Add yours

  1. Pingback: MAY WRAP UP

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

