JUNE WRAP UP!

I had 10 books to read this month for publishers, and there was a standalone I REALLY wanted to read, two series I wanted to continue……… this month was a book HELL.

 

Anyways, on to what I actually read

HOW TO WRITE GOOD – RYAN HIGA 4/5
Perhaps not the book for me since I’m more of a fiction and fantasy reader, but I wanted to challenge myself to really step out of my comfort zone and this was the perfect book to do that with and honestly? I wasn’t disappointed! this book was fun and a little silly but overall gave some great life tips, I rated it 4/5 stars

FLAWED – CECELIA AHERN 4/5
Her debut novel follows a girl in a politically corrupt world where she goes from perfect to flawed and becomes the poster girl to start a change. This was pretty cliche in a lot of ways but it was so addictive and fun and I absolutely adored this book 4/5 stars

PERFECT – CECELIA AHERN 4/5
This is the sequel and end of the Flawed duology and it was genuinely such a feel good ending. This book becomes a lot more politically focused and you can really see their country falling apart at the seams, honestly another great book 4/5 stars

FLAME IN THE MIST – RENEE AHDIEH 4/5
A slow starting but eventually addictive Mulan retelling. This book had a beautiful Japanese setting but it lacked in world building and some explanations, what it lacked, it made up for in amazing characters and an intriguing plot, overall I loved this. 4/5 stars

CITY OF GLASS – CASSANDRA CLARE 5/5
The third book in the Mortal instruments series and it felt more like the last book in a trilogy but it was still an amazing book and had such wonderful character development and world building. I’m a sucker for this series so it was a 5/5 stars.

ELEANOR OLIPHANT IS COMPLETELY FINE – GAIL HONEYMAN 3/5
A debut novel that follows the life of a woman who had a traumatic childhood as she learns what its like to have family & friends, and ultimately, how to deal with the trauma of her childhood. this honestly had such an uplifiting ending I really enjoyed reading this book 3.5/5

CAMINO ISLAND – JOHN GRISHAM 3/5
A thriller set on a fictional island, where a group of thieves had stolen the manuscripts of F. Scott Fitzgerald from Princeton University, and a woman is sent undercover to find out where they are. This was a fast and fun read and overall really enjoyable but just pretty average. 3/5

CLOCKWORK ANGEL – CASSANDRA CLARE 5/5
This is the first book in the infernal devices series and it was STUNNING. I connected to these characters just as quickly as I did to the TMI cast and I was genuinely surprised by some of the plot twists. The setting was beautiful and honestly, this was an amazing book, it was ofcourse, also, a 5/5 rating.

GODBLIND – ANNA STEPHENS 4/5
This was an amazing dark & gritty debut novel that left me wanting for more. It had dark vibes in the line of Game of Thrones with a war brewing. There were some amazing characters and villains & the plot line never lacked, all in all, I loved this and cannot wait for the sequel next year.

CITY OF FALLEN ANGELS – CASSANDRA CLARE 4/5
I was so dissapointed with this novel, not because it was bad, but because it wasn’t nearly as good as any of her other books that I’ve read. This felt alot like a filler book with interesting elements to it, and great character development, but a filler book nonetheless. overall 4/5 stars

DESTROY ME – TAHEREH MAFI 5/5
Ahhhhhhhh I found out the first novella was from Warners perspective (I spent months thinking it was from Adam’s) and I JUMPED at the chance to devour it and read it in around an hour. It follows Warner’s life after Juliette escapes and how her escape impacts him… also, WARNER IS A SOCK MAN!

ON THE BRIDGE – CASSANDRA CLARE 5/5
I don’t care if this isn’t even long enough to count as a novella it made my heart swoon and break all at once and it made me love Will & Jem so much more this was a masterpiece woven into a few tiny words and I honestly wish it was longer.

FROSTBLOOD – ELLY BLAKE 3/5
*sigh* I WANTED to love this, I was soooo looking forward to it but alas I had overhyped it in my mind because it was just MEH. the plot was interesting but the characters were only okay and the plot twist was predictable af. I have heard Fireblood is WAY better so I will still continue this series

CLOCKWORK PRINCE – CASSANDRA CLARE 5/5
I swear Cassie is the master of breaking your heart, and putting it back together because that’s what she did with this novel. While now I can look back on it with a smile, when I first finished it I was a complex mixture of emotions that I couldn’t even decipher, I didn’t see one of those plot twists coming and it broke my heart but then made me feel guilty for being sad over it, overall it was amazing.

TRAGIC KIND OF WONDERFUL – ERIC LINDSTROM 4/5
I’ve had TERRIBLE luck with books that talk about MI’s and I was honestly just going to avoid that sub genre as much as possible because it always ended badly for me, but I gave this one a shot (since I had to because it was for a publisher) and I DIDN’T regret it. It dealt with the MI beautifully and the Main Character was so obviously MORE than her MI and her friends and family accepted her and there was positive counselling rep, overall this was just wonderful.

RELEASE – PATRICK NESS 4.5/5
Oh Patrick Ness, can he do no wrong with his novels? this is the second novel I’ve read by him and it left my heart heavy but happy as his last one did. He has a way to make you emotionally connect to the characters in such a short time, and by the end of it, I was so happy for all the characters and there was LGBTQIA+ rep! hurrah!

I also started but didn’t get time to finish,
CROWN OF MIDNIGHT – SARAH J MASS // STARTED 25TH APRIL…. oops.
SIX OF CROWS – LEIGH BARDUGO // STARTED 27TH JUNE
THE THOUSANDTH FLOOR – KATHRINE MCGEE // STARTED 30TH JUNE
CLOCKWORK PRINCESS – CASSANDRA CLARE // STARTED 29TH JUNE

 

So this month was INSANE reading wise> How I managed to read this many books escapes me but I hope I can keep it up!

Total read this month: 16
Total read this year: 54
Current Goodreads goal: 100

Until next time,
Sarah

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

