REVIEW – GAME OF THRONES 20TH ANNIVERSARY EDITION

TITLE: A game of thrones

AUTHOR: George R. R. Martin

RATING: ★★★★

TRIGGER WARNING:  battle scenes, death, murder, rape

WHERE DID I RECEIVE THIS?: HarperCollins NZ sent this to me in exchange for an honest review!

FAVORITE QUOTE: “… a mind needs books as a sword needs a whetstone, if it is to keep its edge.”

SYNOPSISS

Summers span decades. Winter can last a lifetime. And the struggle for the Iron Throne has begun.

As Warden of the north, Lord Eddard Stark counts it a curse when King Robert bestows on him the office of the Hand. His honour weighs him down at court where a true man does what he will, not what he must … and a dead enemy is a thing of beauty.

The old gods have no power in the south, Stark’s family is split and there is treachery at court. Worse, the vengeance-mad heir of the deposed Dragon King has grown to maturity in exile in the Free Cities. He claims the Iron Throne.

REVIEWW

wow wow wow is the first thing I have to say. I originally read this book back in September of last year and so for the story I rate this book 4/5 stars however the artwork in this is phenomenal and truly makes it a collectors piece as I was able to flip through every page of this book and connect images to scenes and be re transported to the gruesome world of Westeros.

Game of thrones is the first novel in the Song of Ice and Fire series,a  high fantasy series set in a far off land called Westeros. It’s a multi perspective book following the different houses and families as they fight to stay alive and gain the iron throne.

I’m mostly just going to talk about the artwork and collector value since this is a 75 NZD copy as opposed to the 20 NZD normal paperback, I’m sure people who haven’t read this, wouldn’t buy this edition straight away.

A black and white image starts off every chapter, giving you, the reader a better sense of what the scene is before you and I genuinely found myself loving some of this artwork even if it was black & white. One of the most interesting things was how detailed the artwork was, it gave life to the scenes and actually made me think of the characters looking different ( as like many people I envisioned the cast of GOT as the characters ) but the drawn characters felt more RIGHT.

There are also a few coloured images on glossy paper throughout this book and every single one of them is truly gorgeous the colours just bringing a beautiful touch and I genuinely wish the whole book was done in colour, but I understand why it wasn’t.
I think one of my favourite images was a black & white one of one of the dead dragons of the war in his prime. While when reading this book, I KNEW the dragons must have been huge, but seeing them illustrated, with their feet larger than a man made me want a pet dragon almost.

There are a total of 5 or 6 colored images and around 70 black and white pictures making this an absolute gem of a book. I think there’s no need to buy this, if you’re only testing out westeros, but if you’re a fan of the books or TV series, I think this is totally a must buy!

until next time,
Sarah

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

