REVIEW – FLAWED

TITLE: Flawed

AUTHOR: Cecelia Ahern

RATING: ★★★★.5

TRIGGER WARNING:  

WHERE DID I RECEIVE THIS?: HarperCollinsNZ sent this to me in exchange for an honest review!

FAVORITE QUOTE:

SYNOPSISS

You will be punished…

Celestine North lives a perfect life. She’s a model daughter and sister, she’s well-liked by her classmates and teachers, and she’s dating the impossibly charming Art Crevan.

But then Celestine encounters a situation where she makes an instinctive decision. She breaks a rule and now faces life-changing repercussions. She could be imprisoned. She could be branded. She could be found flawed.

In her breathtaking young adult debut, bestselling author Cecelia Ahern depicts a society where perfection is paramount and flaws lead to punishment. And where one young woman decides to take a stand that could cost her everything.

REVIEWW

Wow this book was NOT what I expected. I cautiously entered this world as one of my reviewer friends ADORED this book and another hated it so I really didn’t know what to expect but guys I LOVED this book.
I will admit I wish there was more world building, and that we didn’t get dropped into the story the way we did but besides those two hiccups? I adored this book.
This novel follows the main character Celestine North who lives in a world where a committee of people brand certain people flawed for making mistakes or lying, deceiving, you get the point. Flawed people are not criminal, yet they get a permanent punishment, being seen as not quite human. The idea of making people flawed was to have the perfect human race, but of course. That never works.
Originally Celestine is that perfect girl. Straight A’s and always being PERFECT, but in cliche, one compassionate mistake makes her flawed and the enemy of a powerful man.

This book is FULL with cliches but I genuinely didn’t mind them, perhaps that’s because I haven’t read much YA so I’m not bored of them, but I can totally see this being an issue for a well seasoned YA reader because so many books are full of them!
My favourite part of this book was the political undercurrents. This book shows the movement of people who don’t believe in the rules that make someone flawed, and the reactions of people who find the flawed disgusting. I found the reporters and judges all interesting characters and overall the political undercurrents of this book which came to a head at the end, really pulled this through to be a 4.5 star rating.

Besides the political undercurrents, I loved Celestine. She was your typical smart girl and while she was cliche in a lot of ways, I still found myself loving her and what she stood for, compassion and logic. How she never wanted to be the face of a movement, but she’s been forced into that position by people who want to use her, and how she slowly begins to learn how to play the political game.
Overall this was such a fun read and I really devoured it once I got into it. I would recommend this to YA readers and people who like books with a corrupt political system!
Until next time,

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

