REVIEW – GODBLIND

TITLE: Godblind

AUTHOR: Anna Stephens

RATING: ★★★★★

TRIGGER WARNING:  War scenes, rape, death, graphic ritual sacrifice

WHERE DID I RECEIVE THIS?: HarperCollinsNZ sent this to me in exchange for an honest review!

SYNOPSISS

The Mireces worship the bloodthirsty Red Gods. Exiled from Rilpor a thousand years ago, and left to suffer a harsh life in the cold mountains, a new Mireces king now plots an invasion of Rilpor’s thriving cities and fertile earth.

Dom Templeson is a Watcher, a civilian warrior guarding Rilpor’s border. He is also the most powerful seer in generations, plagued with visions and prophecies. His people are devoted followers of the god of light and life, but Dom harbors deep secrets, which threaten to be exposed when Rillirin, an escaped Mireces slave, stumbles broken and bleeding into his village.

Meanwhile, more and more of Rilpor’s most powerful figures are turning to the dark rituals and bloody sacrifices of the Red Gods, including the prince, who plots to wrest the throne from his dying father in the heart of the kingdom. Can Rillirin, with her inside knowledge of the Red Gods and her shocking ties to the Mireces King, help Rilpor win the coming war?

REVIEWW


This book has left me speechless, I genuinely feel such a mix of emotions at finishing this book that I can’t quite put it into words, but I’ll try.
Godblind is a dark and gritty high fantasy novel that follows multiple characters as a war brews, and new and old gods rise. You follow both sides of the war, those who follow the red gods, and those who follow the gods of light and you see how it progresses and how every action made, no matter how far away, has a consequence.
I think, overall, my favourite part of this story, were the characters. I fell in love with so many of them and their stories that I was sad to see them go. Ash, Crys,( can we talk about how cute they were together???? It was also rlly nice to see a character overcome their ingrained homophobia to be with another man ) Rillin, Durdil and Tara were my favourites and I felt like by the end of the novel o really had gotten to know them, and what they stand for.
I think the plot was interesting as different smaller plots all connected up at the end to a brutal fight, all different roads led to the same path, an unavoidable path of death and destruction and that was something I found really interesting.
Overall the plot and characters were my favourite and while the world was well traveled and parts explained beautifully, I didn’t connect with the world as I did the characters and plot. Right about now I’m clawing at the ground for an announcement that a sequel will happen because well, YOU CANT END IT LIKE THAT, HOW DARE YOU ANNA STEPHENS. (UPDATE; Anna Stephens said that the sequel will be released sometime in the next spring and that it’s a trilogy!!! I can’t contain my excitement ) My heart was racing as I saw the pages getting less and less and no conflict being resolved and I was left with a brutal cliff hanger and a heavy heart.
Overall, if you’re a high fantasy lover, who’s okay with gritty and dark stories full of death, sacrifice and political games, you will LOVE Godblind which releases today in New Zealand!

Until Next Time,
Sarah

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

