REVIEW – SIX OF CROWS

TITLE: Six Of Crows

AUTHOR: Leigh Bardugo

RATING: ★★★★.5

TRIGGER WARNING: Imprisonment

WHERE DID I RECEIVE THIS?: I brought this from BookDepository!

FAVORITE QUOTE:  “No mourners. No funerals. Among them, it passed for ‘good luck.” // “The heart is an arrow. It demands aim to land true.”

SYNOPSISS

Criminal prodigy Kaz Brekker has been offered wealth beyond his wildest dreams. But to claim it, he’ll have to pull off a seemingly impossible heist:

Break into the notorious Ice Court
(a military stronghold that has never been breached)

Retrieve a hostage
(who could unleash magical havoc on the world)

Survive long enough to collect his reward
(and spend it)

Kaz needs a crew desperate enough to take on this suicide mission and dangerous enough to get the job done – and he knows exactly who: six of the deadliest outcasts the city has to offer. Together, they just might be unstoppable – if they don’t kill each other first.

REVIEWW

I get it, I finally get the hype. I am so amazingly glad I read this book and even though it had a slow start, the ending was amazing and I was constantly waiting for Kaz to make another twist to the story that I couldn’t predict.
Six of crows follows a gang of kids known as the dregs, on their impossible heist to kidnap the one man who knew how to make grisha invincible, from the most secure palace in the world.
I found this book, SO fun, and Leigh created this world so artfully that I was constantly in awe and was too distracted by everything else to notice a new plot twist occurring until it surprised me, and I LOVED that aspect of this story.
I read Shadow and Bone in Janurary and was highly disappointed in it, which had put me off from reading this for so long, but to anyone like me, who has read Leigh’s first trilogy and didn’t like it, don’t give up on her, because she can write an amazing story when she wants to.
I think overall, my favourite aspect of this story was the characters, like so many other people I fell in love with all of their different personalities and wants in life and found it so heart warming to see a bunch of misfits join together.
It should also be mentioned that this book includes diversity! Hurrah! I know it’s not the best diverse book in the sense there could always be more, and there are better books, but I was very happy to see some diveristy. There are two main characters who are POC, a physically impaired character (chronic pain/limp) and what seems to be two characters who aren’t straight!!!
While this plot line was really interesting I have to admit I was more in this story for the characters and could care less if they pulled the heist off as long as they all lived, and so I had to take half a star away for the very slow beginning but decided against taking away another for anything else because this book was just too good, the end made up for everything else it lacked!
If you like fantasy books with morally dubious character, and a pinch of crime thrown in, check out Six Of Crows!

Until next time,
Sarah

2 thoughts on “REVIEW – SIX OF CROWS

Add yours

  1. Pingback: JULY WRAP UP!

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

