REVIEW – WHEN DIMPLE MET RISHI

TITLE: When Dimple Met Rishi

AUTHOR: Sandhya Menon

RATING: ★★★.5

TRIGGER WARNING:  Characters that are racist.

WHERE DID I RECEIVE THIS?: HachetteNZ sent this to me in exchange for an honest review!

SYNOPSISS

The arranged-marriage YA romcom you didn’t know you wanted or needed…

Meet Dimple.

Her main aim in life is to escape her traditional parents, get to university and begin her plan for tech world domination.

Meet Rishi.

He’s rich, good-looking and a hopeless romantic. His parents think Dimple is the perfect match for him, but she’s got other plans…

Dimple and Rishi may think they have each other figured out. But when opposites clash, love works hard to prove itself in the most unexpected ways.

REVIEWW

I managed to read this in two days, and I could’ve read it in one, it was that kind of fun and addictive story that I didn’t want to put down.
When dimple met rishi is a story that follows two characters, dimple and Rishi, who are both Indian Americans but they both have very different beliefs. Rishi wants to make his parents happy and wants to stick to the ideals of his culture, where as Dimple feels crushed in her Indian family and wants space to breath and he herself, but when they met, even their differences can’t keep them apart.
This story is that kind of adorable story that you would read when you need a pick me up, and it did exactly that for me. Throughout the novel I felt warm and fuzzy and got excited for the characters and their triumphs!
However I will say, towards the end, I was bored of the story? Which isn’t super common for me, however I have been reading a lot more contemporary stories lately and I might have needed a break from it.
My favourite character had to be Dimple, she was so head strong and believed in what she wanted and did anything she could to get to it. While there were some actions of hers I didn’t agree with (namely, going through his sketch book) overall I loved seeing dimple grow as a young girl and learn what she really wanted, and what was important to her.
Overall this story was cute, the plot had a good lead up and a romantic happy ending that left me feeling happy for dimple & rishi.
It should be mentioned that this book is REALLY important, and while it was overall just an average book for me, it deserves all Te hype it’s getting. It’s so rare to see two main characters being POC, let alone having their culture interwoven into the story and normally when books like that do exist, they don’t get hyped. I’ve witnessed so many people get excited and tearful over finally having this book, even just because the girl on the covers skin, matches theirs. It’s such a small thing, and it should be a normal thing, but it’s not. For that reason I REALLY think everyone should pick this book up, because not only do you get a fun, light hearted read. You also get to learn about a culture that might be very different to yours.

Until Next Time,
Sarah

One thought on “REVIEW – WHEN DIMPLE MET RISHI

Add yours

  1. Pingback: JULY WRAP UP!

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

