TRY 5 BOOKS!

Good Morning Everyone, it’s the first of August (isn’t scheduling a beautiful thing?) and I’m bored by my current reads unfortunately (one is a review book, another is in preparation for a review book) Up until now, I’ve been the kind of person to just push through no matter how much I hated it, because it was a review book, it had to be read RIGHT AWAY. But I always find the first 150-200 pages of most novels hard to get into fully, and I’m having that problem right now. So I’m stepping back from my review books for a moment, and I’m going to be trying 5 books that have been sitting on my shelf for too long. TWO, are series continuations, and three are series starters. The plan is to read the first chapter of each book, and see if any of them grip me.

IMG_3624

I have a rough order that I’m going to try these in, but I’m unsure if I’ll stick to it
1. Unravel me
2. Crooked kingdom
3. A Darker Shade of Magic
4. Daughter of Smoke & Bone
5. Wintersong

So it’s time to stop procrastinating and start reading. OBVIOUSLY the hope here is to start reading a book, and not be able to put it down, let’s see if it happens.

UNRAVEL ME

So, I KNOW this is called try a chapter, but the chapters in this book are like, 3 pages long so I’ve gone with try atleast 3 but preferably 4.

WELL, I got to chapter 6 before I realized I should stop and actually you know… give the other books a chance? I forgot how much I loved this series, how funny Kenji is and how much I hated Adam. This is a strong contender to continue with already.

 

CROOKED KINGDOM

this is the book I’ve been putting off the most, which is odd because I gave Six of Crows 4.5 stars, and I’ve heard only good things about Crooked Kingdom but alas I am always worried I’ll hate a book everyone loves.

so, I read the first chapter and found myself semi bored? whoops? I’m sure it actually picks up after the first chapter, it wouldn’t be so loved if it didn’t but I think I’m just not in the mood for this one so it’s going to be a PASS from me

 

A DARKER SHADE OF MAGIC

I have been wanting to read something by Victoria Schwab forever, and I’ve owned this for a few months so I think I should really give it a go

Okay, I did only read one chapter (I blame Unravel Me for being in my brain right now) BUT I am actually intrigued right away and love Kell for being so kind to a ailing king, so this is TOTALLY staying on my immediate TBR

 

DAUGHTER OF SMOKE & BONE – I’m skipping this book, It’s not the best idea I know, but with Unravel me so heavily in my mind, I’m not going to try to pick up a book I’m pretty sure I’m not in the mood for, so I’m skipping over it to…

 

WINTERSONG

One of my friends ADORES this book, and I really want to know what the fuss is about so here we go,

so this was intriguing. The only knowledge I have of the Goblin King is from the movie that has David Bowie in it, and this seems very different but I’m actually really interested. Probably not as interested as ADSOM but, it’s staying on my Immediate TBR

SO that’s a wrap, I managed to find a book to read right now, and two to pick up next!

Have you read any of these books? Did you love them or hate them?

Until next time,
Sarah

 

 

 

 

3 thoughts on “TRY 5 BOOKS!

Add yours

  1. The DOSAB trilogy is one of my favourite series. However, it took me three tries to get into the first book. I get that 150-200 pages thing. But it’s well worth it!!
    Also, Wintersong is on my TBR – I’m curious to see what you think!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I’m currently halfway through wintersong and can say it’s SUPER great! It’s very lyrical and magical. I’m planning on finishing it tonight! And I’ve heard the same thing! I’ve heard that it’s an amazing series however that it’s a slow series!

      Liked by 1 person

  2. Pingback: AUGUST WRAP UP

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

