TALES FROM THE SHADOWHUNTER ACADEMY *SPOILER FREE REVIEW*

TITLE: Tales from the Shadowhunter Academy

AUTHOR: Cassandra Clare

RATING: ★★★.5

TRIGGER WARNING:  

WHERE DID I RECEIVE THIS?: WalkerBooks Australia sent this to me in exchange for an honest review!

REVIEWW

Simon Lewis has been a human and a vampire, and now he is becoming a Shadowhunter. But the events of City of Heavenly Fire left him stripped of his memories, and Simon isn’t sure who he is anymore. He knows he was friends with Clary, and that he convinced the total goddess Isabelle Lightwood to go out with him…but he doesn’t know how. And when Clary and Isabelle look at him, expecting him to be a man he doesn’t remember…Simon can’t take it.

So when the Shadowhunter Academy reopens, Simon throws himself into this new world of demon-hunting, determined to find himself again. His new self. Whomever this new Simon might be.

But the Academy is a Shadowhunter institution, which means it has some problems. Like the fact that non-Shadowhunter students have to live in the basement. And that differences—like being a former vampire—are greatly looked down upon. At least Simon is trained in weaponry—even if it’s only from hours of playing D&D.

Join Simon on his journey to become a Shadowhunter, and learn about the Academy’s illustrious history along the way, through guest lecturers such as Jace Herondale, Tessa Gray, and Magnus Bane. These ten short stories give an epilogue to the Mortal Instruments series and provide glimpses of what’s in store in the Dark Artifices.

REVIEWW

WOW, What a way to end this three month long Cassandra Clare binge! WalkerBooks Australia were kind enough to send me a copy of TFTSA in exchange for an honest review, and to be patient enough to wait for me to finish the series and review this book!

I will start of by talking about Simon Lewis, I’ll admit it, I was NOT a Simon fan until about City of Lost Souls where I began to LOVE him. He was such a compassionate character, who loved his friends and family so much that he was willing to put himself in danger.

This collection of 10 stories followed Simon’s life after he becomes human again & loses his memories. Simon decides to take up the Shadowhunter life. He moves to Idris & begins training, but when his training begins he finds theres a big divide between the ‘elites’ & the ‘dregs’ (those with shadowhunter blood & the mundanes)

With the alternating perspectives I felt nostogia, humored & I fell in love with so many characters that didn’t get fully explored in the other Shadowhunter installments. The short stories stopped everything from dragging on as the small plots moved quickly and kept me entertained. The last novella, Angels twice descending broke my heart into a thousand little pieces, but what else is Cassandra Clare known for except for murdering our souls 😉

To me, this is a filler book of sorts. It’s not essential by any means at all, but it fills in some gaps beautifully. This collection arc’s the way from City of Heavenly Fire to Lady Midnight, while letting us reminisce over some old characters we loved, and letting us meet brand new characters.

Overall My favourite stories were ‘angels twice descending’ & ‘nothing bus shadows’ the first, for breaking my heart in obvious Cassandra Clare fashion, and the latter, for re introducing me to some of my favourite characters.

I know 3.5 isn’t the highest rating by any means, it’s really a middle point for a book being okay and pretty damn good. so I would say this book was good. I just found that like with any short story compilation, I didn’t enjoy every single collection & that’s perfectly normal!

I don’t reccommend this if you havent read the Mortal Instruments or The Infernal Devices, however if you’ve read those two, I would HIGHLY recommend this as it fills in the world and characters really well!

Until Next Time,
Sarah

One thought on “TALES FROM THE SHADOWHUNTER ACADEMY *SPOILER FREE REVIEW*

Add yours

  1. Pingback: AUGUST WRAP UP

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

