hopeless & hopeful LOVE HATE AND OTHER FILTERS REVIEW

TITLE: Love, Hate & Other Filters

AUTHOR: Samira Ahmed

RATING: ★★★★.25

TRIGGER WARNING: Terrorist attack, physical and verbal abuse, major tones of racism.

WHERE DID I RECEIVE THIS?: Allen & Unwin sent this to me in exchange for an honest review!

GENRE: Contemporary

synopsis

A searing #OwnVoices coming-of-age debut in which an Indian-American Muslim teen confronts Islamophobia and a reality she can neither explain nor escape–perfect for fans of Angie Thomas, Jacquelyn Woodson, and Adam Silvera.

Maya Aziz is torn between futures: the one her parents expect for their good Indian daughter (i.e.; staying nearby in Chicago and being matched with a “suitable” Muslim boy), and the one where she goes to film school in New York City–and maybe, just maybe, kisses a guy she’s only known from afar. There’s the also the fun stuff, like laughing with her best friend Violet, making on-the-spot documentaries, sneaking away for private swimming lessons at a secret pond in the woods. But her world is shattered when a suicide bomber strikes in the American heartland; by chance, he shares Maya’s last name. What happens to the one Muslim family in town when their community is suddenly consumed with hatred and fear?

my thoughts

wow this hit me in the heart, and I wish Maya was real so I could hug her & protect her from the evil of the world, but she managed the bad side of the world pretty well. overall I’m giving this a 4.25

The main character of this novel was Maya, a girl who has the dream of becoming a film maker ( though that doesn’t take precedence in this story ) She is trying to live her life by respecting her Indian parents wishes, but also, by not stopping herself from doing all the things she so desperately loves.

Overall my favorite part of this novel was the ending, so often contemporaries end  with a super hopeful fake ending ( which can be nice ! ) or there will be a sad ending but this ending was just so realistic. Maya got what she wanted, but not without consequences that will hurt her, and take time to fix.

I was really impacted by the way this novel handled racism, showing the truth of the matter and holding nothing back. Personally I would recommend this book to anyone who wants a beautiful story that feels like it could’ve just happened in real life.

WHAT I LIKED
1. the way racism was dealt with, no nonsence and no excuses
2. how this blatantly showed what the american media does when there is a white terrorist
3. how darn hopeful this novel was, with all the horrible things happening, the mc never lost hope
4. the happy but realistic ending.
5. the fact that the mc was happy to be both indian & american, and that she embraced both parts of herself.

until next time,
Sarah

Advertisements

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s